The entry procedure for Vietnam's International Financial Center is no longer a blank space.
Decision 05 Annexes I–II specify that the dossier is in English with a Vietnamese translation.
That is progress. It is not an eligibility prediction.
Start with the route, not the headline
The general route is registration. Resolution 222 Art. 10.3 requires an investor to establish a legal personality as a Member, subject to the stated sector exceptions. Decree 324 Art. 4.1(a) says that, for a legal entity that is an enterprise, the member-registration certificate also serves as the enterprise-registration certificate.
Recognition is a different route under Resolution 222 Art. 10.2. This article does not determine whether a particular entity qualifies for recognition or another sector-specific route.
The published filing procedure
Decision 05 Annex I sets the membership-registration, recognition, change, and termination procedure for business sectors outside finance and banking. Financial/banking applicants and conditional business lines follow the relevant establishment-and-operation or operating-licence route before operating. Within the Annex I scope, Decision 05 identifies three legal filing channels: direct filing at the city Executive Agency, by post, or through the Membership Registration and Recognition System.
The current online workflow
The legal channels and the portal workflow are separate layers. The official VIFC member portal currently directs applicants to consult the Executive Authority before a portal procedure, and access accounts are issued by the Authority rather than created through self-service. This operational instruction does not, on the evidence reviewed here, replace or narrow the legal channels in Decision 05 or Decree 324.
A 7 September 2026 Government News update reports that the two Executive Authorities had issued registration and recognition procedures applied uniformly from 17 August 2026. That supports treating the procedures as operationally current; it does not establish eligibility, application acceptance, or the outcome for a particular entity.
The Regulation gives the city Executive Agency two working days to check dossier completeness. Its Annex I describes registration-certificate issuance within seven days from receipt of a complete and valid dossier. Decree 324 Art. 4.2(c) provides a seven-working-day statutory period after receipt of the registration dossier. For recognition, the Regulation states a five-working-day period after receipt of a complete dossier.
The two registration formulations are not yet reconciled in the controlling Vietnamese texts reviewed here. Treat the seven-day Annex I clock and Decree 324’s separate seven-working-day clock as instrument-specific, not as one universal filing promise.
Those are processing periods. They are not a promise that an application will be accepted, and they are not a full market-entry schedule.
The language rule is explicit: the dossier is in English accompanied by a Vietnamese translation. The signed pages reviewed for this post do not establish a universal certification or notarisation standard for every translation and applicant category. For a foreign organisation, however, its legal-status documents are expressly subject to consular legalization. Confirm the applicable detail before filing.
The criteria now visible in Annex II
Decision 05 Annex II is headed as the criteria, conditions, and appraisal content for membership and enterprise registration in the Vietnam IFC for sectors outside finance and banking.
Its visible criteria/evidence structure covers:
- legal status;
- ownership and control transparency, including beneficial ownership;
- legal or authorised representation;
- head office;
- financial capacity;
- reputation and capability, labelled Fit and Proper; and
- business-line fit with the Center's development orientations and priority sectors.
The financial-capacity section requires minimum financial capacity for membership registration and charter-capital contribution, plus an explanation and at least one listed form of evidence. The signed page lists audited financial statements for the two most recent years, parent-company support, financial-institution support, a financial-capacity guarantee, or other financial-capacity evidence.
This is a published evidence framework. The reviewed text does not state a universal numeric capital threshold, a minimum headcount, or a minimum years-in-operation rule. Decree 324 Art. 4.2(c) provides for a member-registration certificate or a written refusal stating reasons; this article does not predict that outcome.
Annex II also lists the relevant application or recognition document, organisation and representative legal documents, beneficial-owner/member/founding-shareholder and foreign-investor-shareholder lists where applicable, head-office right-to-use evidence such as a lease, and Fit-and-Proper forms with management qualification and experience evidence.
The continuing requirements still matter
Decree 324 Art. 4.7 requires a Member to locate its head office inside the International Financial Center and maintain it throughout operation.
Resolution 222 Art. 12 identifies continuing obligations including legal compliance, financial-crime compliance, financial statements, audit and disclosure, continuing satisfaction of membership standards, and information-security duties.
Decision 05 Annex II also requires a Member, within 90 days after receiving the member-registration and enterprise-registration certificates, to report and attach evidence that charter-capital contribution has been completed. The Annex treats failure to report as failure to satisfy the financial-capacity standard and refers to the Decree 324 membership-termination consequence.
What remains open
This article does not answer every live filing question.
Before filing, ask the competent city Executive Agency for:
- the applicable registration, recognition, or sector-specific route for the legal entity;
- the current published forms and any implementation guidance for the relevant route;
- the evidence it expects for the proposed head-office arrangement;
- the sector regulator and licence path for the concrete activity;
- the required translation format, certification, or notarisation detail; and
- the current membership-registration or recognition fee schedule, legal basis, payer, payment timing, and payment channel.
This article does not state a membership fee amount or waiver. Decision 05 provides for city agencies to submit proposed fees and schedules to the competent authority. The signed pages reviewed here do not state a fee amount.
The useful conclusion
This article does not determine a particular entity's route, evidence, premises, sector regulation, or application outcome.
That is a more demanding answer than “seven days.” It is also an answer a firm can use.
Method
Primary-text review for this post: 11 August 2026. Decision 05/QĐ-HĐĐHTTTC was retrieved from the Government Portal's signed-PDF attachment, hashed, OCR'd as a Vietnamese reading derivative, and checked visually on the cited operative, procedure, and Annex II pages. Resolution 222 and Decrees 323–324 were checked against the corpus's English reading copies. The Vietnamese signed texts are the citation authority; English texts are reading copies.
This post does not determine eligibility, acceptance, the sufficiency of a premises arrangement, the applicability of a sector licence, or a current fee. It describes the published procedure and the questions that remain for the competent authority.
Research and operational planning only. Not legal, tax, immigration, securities, investment, banking, payments, digital-asset, licensing, accounting, labor, or regulated financial advice. Describing a procedure is not advising on it. Formal decisions should be reviewed by qualified professionals in the relevant jurisdiction.